The wedding.

23 Oct

It is a swamp. Why should it think all the time? It is very tough to battle one’s mind.

The dinner tables were filled with people, their talk, laughter, food and everything. People were surrounding the couple on the dance floor. Waiters dressed in black were going about their job. I was standing there wondering what to think. It was Arvind who noticed the look on my face, the one that drained all happiness from it. He came over to my side and told me to look at the bride.

Have you seen any bride this happy in life, with so much enthusiasm and laughter? This is the unforgiving minute Kipling was talking about. Be in this moment, enjoy this moment. It is yours..your sister’s..your family’s.

I moved my head around to see her. It was that moment that affirmed my faith that life is made of great moments. The make-up on her face reflected the neon lights. Her upper front row teeth distinctly showed its half-white color, the same set of teeth she would chatter when she slept. Her right hand held the trail of her dress and the left was moving around. The frills of her hair fell on her exposed shoulders, the contrast of colors was stunning. Eyes are the index of a girl’s beauty. I saw hers, which was slightly moist and shining with happiness, expectation and joy. She was her happiest ever as far as I’ve seen her. I will remember that look for years to come. A vibrant face radiating with happiness. Who wouldn’t fall in love with her?

This was the girl with whom I had grown up all the childhood, shared dinner plates, played cards with, gone to school and fiercely fought with (still do). She has aged in front of my eyes and I’ve never seen her this way. It hit me hard. My sister is getting married and have I done enough for her? She was there in the arms of someone else. I thought maybe she is no longer ours or mine. But I knew her well not to admit that. A curious student, an inspiring leader, a committed professional, an active worker, a responsible daughter, a protective sister and an individualist. She has been everything. There are no doubts whatsoever that she will continue to be all of this and more. A good wife, a loving mother…..

I would never be able to estimate the impact she has had on my life. To sum it up in one line ‘All my good clothes have been picked by my sister’. She has given me more than any sister would give a brother not just money but ideas, values, morals and inspiration. As I saw her in that dress, in that place I prayed to God that she should get all the happiness that she deserves in life. As I see a lot of girls and women around, I don’t see anyone like her for far-far away. She is truly one of a kind.

Proud to be your brother. I know you might not be, but soon one day you will.

My Toast..


6 Responses to “The wedding.”

  1. Aditya October 25, 2008 at 9:25 am #

    Wow….you have a talent at bringing out emotions in people reading your posts.
    With my sis going to tie the not in a couple of years….I can imagine every word you just wrote
    The best post I have ever read….

  2. Hari Vishnu October 25, 2008 at 8:34 pm #

    hmm.. its amazing, the importance a sister can have in ur life.. i know ppl who’ve told me theyd rather have a sis than a bro :-).. talk abt sex discrimination.. its gonna be weird, wen she leaves ur world, for sure..

    my wishes to ur sis too..

  3. Narendar October 28, 2008 at 8:03 am #

    Reading this post did remind me of the similarities we both have.. born and brought up in the same place singaara chennai and similar background, thats the same way i look at my sister…one thing that i also found out was u can kid the world but not your sister… 🙂 its like these sisters are the most competitive relationship u can have in your family but once she grows up,(:P) the most strongest relationship…
    My hearty congratulations to your sister on her wedding 🙂

  4. Brado October 30, 2008 at 4:27 pm #

    Dude… best wishes to ur sis da…

  5. Shobhna October 31, 2008 at 8:40 pm #

    Thoughts beautifully expressed!!! Don’t have a brother but I guess this is how he must have felt.. feel lil jealous that she has you as her brother….

  6. divya November 24, 2008 at 6:12 pm #

    wow… u do have a way with words…touches the perfect chord… an amazing toast to an amazing sis :)….

Leave a comment